How long is a piece of string? – Fun With Math

blog yarnThis post is just a little bit of math fun as a break from working on the “river” piece.

The other night I was prepping some yarn to mordant and dye for an infinity scarf. As the plan is to dye different sections of the yarn different colors I had set up two chairs to wind a very large loop. As I walked around and around for quite a long time my husband commented “I wonder how long that is?”.

The comment was all it took for me to decide to work it out.

Luckily I had everything at hand to work it out. I had an infinity scarf sitting completed so I was able to weigh it. I still had the label for the yarn which indicated how many meters were on the ball and how much it weighed. A quick bit of figuring and I came up with 210 meters of yarn.

Then to put the meters in context I compared it to where we live;  the yarn for an infinity scarf would go just slightly further than half way around our city block.

Just so you know, I’m not completely insane, I didn’t walk the yarn around the block…….I run with a GPS and our block is bang on 400 meters to walk around.

……….and now back to working on “river”.……..I don’t even want to think about how many meters of thread in this piece!

 

4 thoughts on “How long is a piece of string? – Fun With Math

Comments are closed.