Buy Local, Sell Local, Source Local

It has been a very busy week. It seems that this week all my different creative worlds collided. This week saw the completion of the book illustrations for “Straw Hat, Rubber Boots and a Cat” by Katherine Weisse. The week also saw the completion of a photography job for Central Alberta Economic Partnership (C.A.E.P.). On top of all that one of my fibre projects found a new local home.

coffee sweater

coffee sweater

A little while ago I put up a post called “Busy, Busy, Busy”. The project I was working on were my “Coffee Sweaters”, little sleeves to keep your hands cool while drinking a cup of take out coffee. The “Coffee Sweaters” are made of 100% wool that I hand dye in micro batches with natural dyes. I then hand knit each little “Coffee Sweater” trying to make each one unique.

coffee sweaters

This week my “Coffee Sweaters” found a new home in an amazing shop called Sunworks, in Red Deer, Alberta. If you are ever in Red Deer it is definitely worth checking out this store, it has an amazing selection of housewares, books, cards, gifts, local art work, a café and a gallery. It is one of those places that you can easily spend an hour just looking at some very tempting things. I am a big believer in the “Buy Local” movement, but it is also great to “Sell Local”.

Sunworks, Red Deer, Alberta

Sunworks, Red Deer, Alberta

In keeping with the “local” theme, I had an exciting delivery arrive today, a shipment of yarn from Custom Woolen Mills (Carstairs, Alberta). What makes this shipment so exciting is that I can buy wool from a mill that is less than 100 miles from home. Wool milled in my own province, not Asia. This is exciting. I really like the option of being able to source my materials locally. I think there is a lot of value in that.

yarn

The last few days have been spent dyeing, dyeing, dyeing and knitting, knitting, knitting. I can hardly wait until I have knit up my stash of dyed yarns so that I can start dyeing and knitting my locally sourced wool yarn.

knitting in the round

I will be having updated “Coffee Sweaters” as I knit them posted on my other blog www.debrahunter.wordpress.com and on my website www.thehuntergroup.ca . The  “Coffee Sweaters” are available at Sunworks or you can purchase them from me directly. My sites will also have book purchase links for “Straw Hat, Rubber Boots and a Cat” in the very near future.

6 thoughts on “Buy Local, Sell Local, Source Local

  1. They are absolutely adorable! I hope you sell loads of them. It must be so satisfying to sell something you have hand-made yourself and it is truly great to support local produce and suppliers.

    • Here is a link to their shop: http://www.customwoolenmills.com/shoppe/yarn.asp#4270

      I ordered the 3 strand mule spun and the lopi. The mule spun seems very nice but I haven’t dyed or knit it yet. The lopi I am thinking of using for fulling. I am restraining myself and knitting up the last of the other naturally dyed wools I have before I treat myself to the local yarns. Hopefully by the weekend I will get to dye the new yarn. Exciting!

Comments are closed.