Lac Des Arcs, Alberta

lac des arcs, alberta, canada

A couple of weeks ago we drove to the coast for a longish weekend. When we are doing these trips (1100+ km one way) we usually drive through the mountains admiring the scenery but never stopping in the hope of making it to Vancouver as quickly as possible and catching the first ferry out in the morning. On this particular day I just had to take a few pictures of Lac des Arcs. Lac des Arcs is one of the first real views of mountains and lakes as you approach Banff National Park from the east along the Trans Canada Highway. The mountains reflecting on a solid sheet of ice was just too good to pass up. What these pictures don’t show was the gale force wind and how truly cold it was. However I feel the pictures are very beautiful and show a time of year, half way between fall and winter, that isn’t often photographed.

lac des arcs, alberta, canada

lac des arcs, alberta, canada

lac des arcs, alberta, canada

 

9 thoughts on “Lac Des Arcs, Alberta

    • It’s funny, in the hundreds of times I have driven past this spot I am not sure if I have ever shot there before. We’ve done hikes on the other side of the lake and on the other side of the highway but never stopped at the spot where I shot. I guess there are always new points of view to shoot.

  1. Very nice! But the winds there are just bitterly brutal. I’m shivering just thinking about it. That’s why I usually stop at Vermilion Lakes — 2nd exit for Banff going westbound (Mt. Norquay). Take the exit, turn towards town, and then take the first right as you go over the bridge/Texas gate. It’s quite a long road (close to 3 km) but does dead-end at a trail head. Some pull-outs along the road for parking but we prefer to park at the end and walk back a bit for photos. Watch for hikers and rubber neckers as it’s a popular spot.

    • I love Vermillion Lakes. Before we had the cabin we used to camp in Banff almost every second weekend in the summer. It is one of the spots I love to sketch and do watercolours at.

      I am actually working on a stitched piece of Mt. Rundle at the moment that is roughly the view from the viewpoint above Vermillion Lakes.

Comments are closed.