Block Printing , A Second Attempt

Way back in March I decided to experiment with block printing. I shared my experience in the blog post titled “Block Printing, A First Attempt” . The result was “fine” but I knew I could do more with it. So I thought about it for quite a while and then recently gave it another try.

I actually finished the piece using block printing this week. It is titled “A Catch of 10”, and I shared it on my other blog in the post “A Catch of 10 (2013) – Fibre Art – Red Deer, Alberta”. I notice that the first block printing post tends to get a lot of views so I though I would share a few work in progress pictures.

cotton ready to dye

cotton ready to dye

marigolds for dyeing

marigolds for dyeing

making marigold dye

making marigold dye

dyeing the cotton in the marigold dye

dyeing the cotton in the marigold dye

drawing the image on the lino block

drawing the image on the lino block

carving the lino block

carving the lino block

fabric dyed in marigold, madder and cutch

fabric dyed in marigold, madder and cutch

block printing the fish

block printing the fish

two printed pieces, one iron dipped and one not

two printed pieces, one iron dipped and one not

beading and stitching in progress

beading and stitching in progress

"A Catch of 10" (2013) 7 inches by 16.5 inches

“A Catch of 10”
(2013)
7 inches by 16.5 inches

This piece is in a fundraiser this week. Details for the fundraiser can be found in my “A Catch of 10 (2013) – Fibre Art – Red Deer, Alberta” post.

 

Art and Photography by Debra Hunter
http://www.thehuntergroup.ca
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

9 thoughts on “Block Printing , A Second Attempt

  1. Interesting process Deb. Haven’t done lino cuts since my school days. Does the marigold ‘soup’ have a strong smell? Is the iron dipping a chemical process creating the black in the print?

    • Marigold doesn’t smell so bad, but tansy smells awful if you ever try that.

      The iron turns the cutch a very dark brown. I actually just dissolve a couple of iron tablets in boiling water when I need to darken colors.

      I enjoy the lino cut process….I just go through an awful lot of band-aids in the cutting process! LOL!

Comments are closed.