Rundle – Work in Progress October Update

It feels like I have really been lagging behind in blogging as of late, not so much because I have nothing to blog about, but more because I seem to have so much going on and life is quite busy. I seem to have a different fibre project in progress in every room of the house at the moment, plus illustrations and illustration reference pictures dotted all over the place; there is a lot going on.

We also just returned from another quick trip out to the “left” coast. My original plan was to get a lot of stitching done while we were out there, but I seemed to spend all the time that wasn’t on the beaches working in the garden and planting trees. I did get a solid 3 and a half hours of stitching completed on a ferry that was running very late (thanks to the driver of the blue mini-van that wouldn’t go and move their van for over a half hour so that they could actually unload the boat at Mayne Island…..long weekends…..sigh!). I was probably the only one on the whole boat who actually benefitted from the delay. The piece I was working on was “Rundle” so I thought I would do a “work in progress” post.

"Rundle" - before the latest work

“Rundle” – before the latest work

Here is the piece after my last “work in progress” post.

rundle october work in progressHere is “Rundle” currently. The color looks a bit different as the first image was a quick shot taken outside while the second shot I took in the studio.

I have started working on the lower left hand corner. It still needs a lot of work, but I do like the color of the silk in the green leaves. Now I need to build up more plant life in this area.

leavesI also added in more detail into the pale green leaves and started to stitch some detail into the lake. I will continue to add more mini foliage around the edge of the lake.

detail in the lakeSwirls have been stitched into the sky area in fine silk thread. At the moment the effect is very subtle, however I think I may keep stitching in this area to make the effect stronger.

sky detail

This piece continues to be a challenge. As the silk is so reflective, the look of the piece changes depending on the lighting conditions it is viewed under, this makes keeping good contrast quite a trial. There is definitely a lot more stitching needed to complete “Rundle”.

6 thoughts on “Rundle – Work in Progress October Update

      • I usually do a quick line sketch on paper of the whole piece, then just sit down with needle, thread and beads and start stitching. I remember my grandmother beading a few pairs of moccasins when I was young and had a pair hanging for years in my room. Maybe I somehow kept those patterns in my head because they seem to come naturally.

Comments are closed.