Rolled and Bundled Shirt

I have been thinking about eco-printing a shirt for some time. I like the concept of wearing naturally dyed clothing and I love the earthy look and colors. The one thing that was holding me back was how to deal with eco-printing  the two sides of pre-made clothing at the same time and still create a visually pleasing item. In the end I decided to stop thinking about it and just try it, after all how hard can it be?

laying out the leavesI laid out the shirt, wet it down, and sprinkled on the leaves. then it was time for bundling and steaming.

bundlesThis shirt sat bundled for longer than I usually do as life just simply got busy. I am pretty happy with the end results.

shirt front

shirt front

Okay, to be honest I am very happy with the results and for that reason I am keeping the shirt for myself. Olive green is one of my favorite colors and the shirt is so earthy that I just must keep it.

shirt back

shirt back

I think the leaf placement worked, and I like how the bundle marks ended up on the back.

details

details

The details printed beautifully, possibly because the item stayed bundled for so long.

I am still amazed at how well rose leaves print.

( Interested in other reads? I also blog at www.islandhomeblog.wordpress.com and at www.debrahunter.wordpress.com .  Work is also posted on my website at www.thehuntergroup.ca )

6 thoughts on “Rolled and Bundled Shirt

Comments are closed.