A Question of Contrast – A W.I.P. Post

I have been working on this piece for a few months now, not solidly but more in bursts here and there. I thought it might be helpful (to myself) to post a W.I.P. (work in progress) post on the piece. A few days ago I took a really good look at the piece and noticed the contrast was weak. It was fine standing a few feet away from the piece, better closeup, but from across the room one element was merging into another and the piece really didn’t grab you.

rundle - work in progress

“Rundle” before I worked on the contrast.

So I decided to spend the weekend trying to solve the situation. The first step was to add some silk leaves that I “think” were dyed in mountain ash. From here I could start adding some contrast. I decided to do a combination of stitching and beading to add more definition; for the light-colored stitching I used madder dyed cotton, and for the dark stitching it was logwood dyed wool.

"Rundle" - after adding some contrasting stitching and beading

“Rundle” – after adding some contrasting stitching and beading

I wanted to do a combination of stitching and beading and highlights and dark tones to prevent myself from just reaching for the beads. Beading the focal points would have been an easy solution but I wanted to solve the problem without taking the easy way out.

rundle - work in progress

This has been a tricky piece right from the start. Before starting the piece I did a quick sketch of what I wanted, I did the sketch from memory and all looked fine…..well that was until I looked at a photograph of Rundle for a reference and realized my sketch was mirror image to what really exists. Weird. So everything had to be flipped around before the needle hit the silk. Even though I have spent many hours working on the image, and the image is now right, it still feels backwards to me.

rundle - work in progressThis piece still needs a ton of work. The lower part has barely been touched. Seeing the pictures of the piece on the computer screen is a great help to see what is working and what isn’t. This piece definitely still has many hours to go.

Interested in other blogs I write? I also blog at www.islandhomeblog.wordpress.com (sharing island life) and at www.debrahunter.wordpress.com (sharing finished art, fibre and portrait and project photography).

4 thoughts on “A Question of Contrast – A W.I.P. Post

  1. If you’re not sure it can sometimes help to work on something else for a while and comeback to it. I like the changes you made but something about it looks out of balance and I can’t put my finger on what

    • Thanks for looking at the piece. I still come back to the problem being that I sketched it completely backwards in the beginning. Perhaps when I sort out the bottom half it will all come together. I am working on a second piece at the same time that is a much rougher type of piece; perhaps I need to work on something more neutral to solve the issues with “Rundle”.

      I took a peek at your blog yesterday. It looks fantastic. I look forward to reading back through your posts.

Comments are closed.