Little Stitchings – Part 2

Onion skin eco-print  silk leaf on arbutus dyed silk.

Onion skin eco-print silk leaf on arbutus dyed silk.

My decision to work on “little stitchings” has been a good choice of direction. It is allowing me to test different combinations of dyed fabrics together and play around with stitching patterns without making a big commitment. I am discovering some combinations I love, and others, not so much. The eco-dyed onion skin silk is definitely a favorite as is the other “mystery” piece of eco-dyed silk that I am using.  I predict there will be a lot more bundling and steaming in my future.

Marigold dyed silk leaf on the "mystery" eco-print silk.

Marigold dyed silk leaf on the “mystery” eco-print silk.

It is difficult to know how much detail to stitch into the leaves; I am tempted to do more but I am afraid it will be too much once it is all pieced together. Perhaps I should just plan to add more stitching once it is all assembled. Working on the “little stitchings” has become part of my evening routine. Once the children are in bed, my husband and I sit down to watch an episode or two of the British television series “Doc Martin” and I stitch. Downsizing the project has been a good choice.

4 thoughts on “Little Stitchings – Part 2

    • The leaves are quite fun to work on. I am finding by shooting them close up and looking at them on the computer screen it is giving me the opportunity to really see what works and what is ugly. As we speak I am boiling up some dried marigold to dye silk for the project.

Comments are closed.