Chocolate Snowflake Cookies

I decided to do another cookie post. Truth be known, doing another cookie post was decided for me, by a third grade teacher,  indicating in my daughter’s agenda, that she (my 8 year old) was responsible for cookies on Friday. No “please”, no “thank you”, no “would it be possible”, just that my daughter was responsible for cookies. Let’s just say I was, and still am, less than impressed, especially since we provided cookies last week as well.

So I have decided to blog my way through this cookie making experience to divert some of my attitude.
snowflake cookies

The recipe I used this evening was the Cut Out Chocolate Cookie recipe which can be found at www.hersheys.com. I particularily like this recipe as it is made with cocoa instead of melting chocolate. To me this seems a lot more convenient plus I always have cocoa in my pantry. I started the cookie dough at 10:30 pm which meant I needed to find ways to speed up the process. I quickly whipped up the cookie dough then realized I needed to chill the dough in order to be able to roll it out. The fastest way to chill the dough was to wrap it in wax paper and set it out on my deck. When it is -25 celsius outside dough chills quickly.

dough cooling outsideOnce the dough was chilled I got to work rolling and cutting out the snowflake shaped cookies.

cutting out the cookies

Into the oven they went. Out they came. I still needed to decorate the cookies this evening so I again popped them out on the deck to cool. I hoped that Danica, the dog next door, wasn’t roaming the neighborhood and about to find a yummy treat.

cooling baked cookies outsideThe cookies cooled and all were accounted for. It was time for a very quick cookie decorating session. I put together a mixture of 3 tablespoons melted margerine, 2 and a half cups icing sugar, a teaspoon of vanilla and a few drops of food coloring. I put the mixture in a zip lock bag with a piping tip on the end and quickly piped on some snow flake details. My husband was put in charge of the little silver balls in the center of the cookies; popping them on as quickly as possible before the icing firmed up.

chocolate snowflake cookies

By the end of the evening we had made 6 dozen chocolate snowflake cookies.

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Snowflake Cookies

  1. Occasionally, and I mean very occasionally, there must be a benefit to living in a subartic climate. Like when baking cookies and needing them to chill very quickly in the middle of the night obviously!!!

    They look very tasty!

    • That is the positive way of looking at things. Unfortunately moments such as now, when it it almost 11 a.m. and still -29 celcius with wind chill outside it is hard to find positives about our climate. I can’t just keep baking cookies because the kids would then eat them all and I would have five wired kids on a sugar high with cabin fever. Yikes!

Comments are closed.