Marigold Magic

This is a dying project that I’ve been working on for a while. Well “working” might not be an accurate word as it was a very easy dye process. I collected the marigold flowers from our garden, and broke apart all the petals. Next the petals were boiled, then the dye, flowers and all,were put into a jar with the fabric.  The jar was then put out on my deck and I simply forgot about it. One piece I tied, the other pieces were dyed just as they were. All the fabrics had been scoured and then mordanted in alum; the sheerest piece of fabric was a silk/cotton blend while  the other pieces were 100% cotton. My best guess is the fabric sat in the jar for at least 6 weeks, with most of that time being in the sun. The last week it lived in my kitchen due to the deck being covered with snow. I could tell through the jar that the fabric had dyed a lovely color, what I could not guess was what a horrible smell  boiled marigolds have after sitting in the sun for six weeks; it was a truly horrible smell. I absolutely love the color the marigolds produce and I will be growing a large garden full of them next summer for dyeing, but for now the challenge is to figure out what to turn these dyed fabrics into.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 thoughts on “Marigold Magic

  1. How wonderful is that! I love the colour very much. Two flowers are called marigold – tagetes and calendula. These look like tagetes, am I right? I think I’ll raid the flower beds in town, they are brimming with marigolds at the moment. Do you think slightly spent flower heads would be still okay? I’m sure I can do some dead heading…:-)

    • I think you are right with the type of marigold, as the calendula tend to have longer petals; I think we call them “Pot Marigold” here.

      I am hoping dead heads will work as I have 4 bags of them saved. I noticed on a few natural dye supplier’s sites they sold marigold as a dye stuff, so my guess is they should work.

Comments are closed.